Lovin’ your best!

Everything that goes into a life of pleasing God has been miraculously given to us by getting to know, personally and intimately, the One who invited us to God. The best invitation we ever received!…(2 Peter 1)

The other day I got an invitation, well actually it was a dare. I was intrigued initially that someone would toss me a dare then I became inspired. A simple invitation triggered a response that spurred a ton of emotions.  Hopeful “love-me-knot” emotions.

Tell me you remember making valentine’s shoe box mailboxes in grade school? Hoping the one boy you secretly had a crush on would give you the 1 card in his superhero box of cards that was totally different from any of the other cards. The card that caused your heart to flutter when you read the words “You’re Super” signed in the scruffiest handwriting were the words “be mine,  from (fill in the blank)”

But of course you had to play it cool because if ANYONE saw you bat an eyelash, the myriad of taunts were comin’ your way on recess “Johnny and Susie sittin’ in a tree…”

Well this little dare/invite I got the other day was kind of like that card. When I opened the invite it literally said you’re amazing. You’re beautiful. and on it read with a boat-load of compliments. I continued to read, it said “now, I dare you to look in the mirror and say those things to yourself.” HUH? Dare? Oddly enough, I couldn’t.

Oh wait, before i forget; glance back up at the picture at the top of this post. Look around the heart for a second and really consider the words that surround the heart. When’s the last time you said those words to yourself? When’s the last time you wished someone said those to you?

Ok, back to the invitation/dare: As much as my heart would flip for the admiration coming from someone else, I couldn’t stare at myself in the mirror and recite those words without feeling weird. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not suggesting that my self-esteem is so low that I couldn’t because I didn’t believe it; it was more of WHY should I do it. Then it hit me. How can I possibly expect anyone to ever consider loving anything about who I am if I can’t even consider THAT I am!

Have you ever felt like the STUFF that happens to you throughout the day, your life, even your mind has caused you to disregard who you are and you’ve become so preoccupied with your situation that you became the situation and lose your identity in the process?

2 Peter 1 says EVERYTHING we need to live a life pleasing to God, which includes recognizing that we are SUPER, has been given to us by God.  He’s designed His own personal valentine shoebox mailbox filled with individual invitations; “He Loves Me” and “Be Mine” cards with each of our names on them and He’s just waiting to pass them out to us. The best part is that we don’t have to wait til Valentine’s day to get our cards. And even if someone see’s you bat an eyelash at the admiration trust that they won’t start the chanting & taunting, but instead they’ll see that sparkle in your eye and you become even more loveable.

This February Challenge is called “Lovin’ the best of me, losin’ the rest”.  When the valentine’s day cards were passed out in class, we each had our own box that we prepared and decorated so that everyone knew it was ours.  Prepare your heart (shoebox mailbox) cuz He’s coming your way to shower you with some extra special cards just for you.

Look back at the picture. Each word on that heart (the best of you) will be inscribed on the cards He drops into your box.  Each one builds on the other just as 2 Peter 1 continues to encourage us…So don’t lose a minute in building on what you’ve been given, complementing your basic faith with good character, spiritual understanding, alert discipline, passionate patience, reverent wonder, warm friendliness, and generous love, each dimension fitting into and developing the others. With these qualities active and growing in your lives, no grass will grow under your feet, no day will pass without its reward as you mature in your experience of our Master Jesus.

 

Related Articles:

Love is a battlefied…

Don’t lose heart

Mirror of my heart

What is love?

One thought on “Lovin’ your best!

  1. Just the other day in the middle of my meltdown my husband told me to shut up and say outloud “I’m a great mother, I’m a great wife” and I hesitated…he repeated. After I said that…I just felt a sense of calm. Loved this blog.

Comments are closed.