Five Ways to Find Your Future

You turned away when I looked you in the eye,
And hesitated when I asked if you were alright,
Seems like you’re fighting for you life,
But why? oh why?
Wide awake in the middle of your nightmare,
You saw it comin’ but it hit you outta no where,
And theres always scars
When you fall back far

We lose our way,
We get back up again
It’s never too late to get back up again,
One day you will shine again,
You may be knocked down,
But not out forever,
Lose our way,
We get back up again,
So get up, get up,
You gonna shine again,
Never too late to get back up again,
You may be knocked down,
But not out forever
(May be knocked down but not out forever)

My husband tells my kids, “It’s not what happens to you, it’s how you respond”.

Life is constantly happening. We can’t keep saying, life got in the way. That’s our own deception trying to convince us that we’ll always take 2 steps forward and 3 steps back.

I had big plans of running a marathon and every year I’d get sick. I consistently blamed the timing of the year and decided an early spring marathon just wasn’t going to happen. Then I rounded a few friends and thought, we can do this together. I was the only one excited about this, and found myself the only one ‘ready’ to start training. Needless to say, 3 lonely runs was all it took for me to bail on that only to later say “well I had no one to do it with me”.

Yesterday, it dawned on me. I could make a list of reason why I haven’t run this marathon yet, but it all came back to me. How I responded to each outcome. I BACKED OUT. It wasn’t the weather. It wasn’t my ‘running crew’ it wasn’t even the fact that I despise the first mile. I had full control over what would happen next. I chose to do nothing.

Whether you set some goals or resolutions, made plans or created your PUSH list, you might be the only thing standing in your way. We are our own worse critic, we set ourselves up for failure, we subconsciously develop an attitude of ‘bail out’.

Let’s change our attitude.

We lose our way, we may be knocked down, but we’re not knocked down forever.

 

2 Corinthians 4: 8We are pressed on every side by troubles, but we are not crushed. We are perplexed, but not driven to despair. 9We are hunted down, but never abandoned by God. We get knocked down, but we are not destroyed.

Five Ways to Find Your Future.

