Spring Cleaning: 8 Detox Methods for Momentum

Philippians 4:6-8 (NLT)

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.  Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

The lyrics of this song alone should have you jumpin’ and praisin’ realizing that it should’ve been you. Call me optimistic but really, when I look back over my life and all that God has done for me…(for my church-goin’ folk that was your cue for testimony time…), but seriously, tell me where would I be if it had not been for the love of Christ!

It’s those moments that keep my heart pumpin’ & spirit movin’. Those individual victories, whether big or small, tangible or surreal; they propel me forward. They are the very proof I pull from when my mind, circumstance or all too often people; tell me I can’t.

For example, I’ve been trying to visualize the layout & what I can expect of this Dirty Girl Mud Run and to be honest, there’s a mix of emotions going on. Part adrenaline mixed with 8th grade track team starting block jitters.

I’m slightly nauseated typing that sentence.

I can still feel the angst of the crowd watching me ready to take my mark and the unnerving chatter of the chic beside me daring me to try to beat her. I can feel the gull I mustered up, the glare I shot her and the words that I muttered, “we’ll see at the finish line”. WHOOP WHOOP… yeah, Imma toot my horn and say YES, YES I DID dust her!

Part of my victory was hangin’ on a prayer that I wouldn’t have to eat my own words and the momentum, without a doubt, came by way of sheer tenacity. I was on cloud nine and felt like sayin’ HOW YA LIKE ME NOW!!!!! HA!

That’s the kinda stuff I’d experience at every starting line for a track meet, a road race, a speaking engagement; every moment I stood in front of a crowd of people waiting to see what I was gonna do with what I’d been given.

Sorry about that I had to take a moment.

Back to the Dirty Girl Mud Run training.

The other day I had a day off of work so I decided hit the gym for a Group Step class. I absolutely LOVE group fitness! It’s like my own personal group of friends who all have the same thing in mind, let’s get it done. Confession; I use to hate step aerobics. I still hate step aerobics. No disrespect to the old school ‘L’ steppers but all that choreography use to get me all tripped up and frustrated. But the BTS Group Step class…THAT is AWESOME! What a major bonus for me to walk in and find my group X manager teaching, I was amped!  She proved to my why I love Group Step. It’s fierce intervals; just enough choreography to make you feel like you could dance if you waned to, and the perfect concoction of metabolism-boosting cardio, infused with fat blasting muscle burn! YES. I got all that out of an hour of  squat leg lifts and “OTT”s, (that’s text speak for over-the-top). She had this way of yelling these commands to us with just a slight amount of suggestion that said ‘if you’re gonna be here, you might as well get something out of it.’  That I did. Every OTT, mambo, elevator squat and side straddle had an agenda…to get to the finish line of the Dirty Girl Mud Run feeling accomplished!

All of these waves of emotion, anxieties and adrenaline rushes flood my brain whenever I take on a new challenge in my life. It doesn’t matter if it’s talking my daughter down from the weird & quirky ‘clicks’ of 4th grade girls or convincing my son that graduation hasn’t happened yet so there’s no chillin’ allowed til you pass the class, all of these moments require grabbing hold of the truths I have stored in my mind which supersede the random nonsense that tries to push me into a state of despair & uncertainty. Every decision I make starts with allowing my mind to be free of toxic non-sense that tries to mess with me and my emotions. Dr. Caroline Leaf is a phenomenal woman who helped me to understand the toxicity of thoughts left mismanaged.

87% to 95% of the illnesses that plague us today are a direct result of our thought life. What we think about affects us physically and emotionally. It’s an epidemic of toxic emotions.

The average person has over 30,000 thoughts a day. Through an uncontrolled thought life, we create the conditions for illness; we make ourselves sick! Research shows that fear, all on its own, triggers more than 1,400 known physical and chemical responses and activates more than 30 different hormones. There are INTELLECTUAL and MEDICAL reasons to FORGIVE! Toxic waste generated by toxic thoughts causes the following illnesses: diabetes, cancer, asthma, skin problems and allergies to name just a few. Consciously control your thought life and start to detox your brain! -Dr. Caroline Leaf; Thought Life

PROFOUND!!!!! Toxic emotions have a tremendous effect on our bodies. Imagine the stifling, even paralysing effect negative emotions can have on our efforts to live a healthy life. If these emotions aren’t reeled in we could get trapped in the wave and literally become drowned in our memory bank.

Just as all of those kindred memories propelled me toward reaching goals, simple memory boosters can detox our minds from those looming nay-saying nags and make room for the foundational truths we can rebuild on.

I’ve mapped out a few simple methods for detoxing our minds with the understanding that, as the woman’s mind thinketh, so is she (Prov 23:7)!

Over the next few days, we’ll break each one down.

8 detox methods to increase your momentum.

  1. Think about whatever is true
  2. Think about whatever is noble
  3. Think about whatever is right
  4. Think about whatever is pure
  5. Think about whatever is lovely
  6. Think about whatever is admirable
  7. Think about anything excellent/virtuous
  8. Think about anything praiseworthy

    Managing emotions - Identifying feelings
    Managing emotions - Identifying feelings (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Think about these things!!!

Ready to take those thoughts captive?

Let’s not just surface clean, let’s get the clutter out… power of our thoughts.

