Spring Detox: Week 2 “Honorable Mention”

Fitness: This weeks focus is Cardio & Core – 5 days. Yes 5. You have 2 rest days. Choose wisely. I couldn’t help but throw in some nostalgia with this core workout. Denise Austin, saved my body after 3 very large babies and 3 C-sections, not to mention she has always been high on my reputable industry go-to list for solid advice and fitness demos. So here’s your core challenge.

Nutrition: Choosing the right foods

Our nutrition focus this week is well, detoxing. The healthy way. I get so many emails and messages asking how to detox and which ‘program’ is the best to follow. It’s simple, the most natural way to detox your body is to stop putting toxic things in it. period. So this week, our nutrition focus is on choosing the right foods for 3 days eating strictly clean for every meal. It doesn’t have to be 3 consecutive days, but it does need to be 3 full days (breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks).  Allow yourself to zig zag on your calories, meaning stay within your calorie range, but allow yourself the flexibility & metabolism boosting range of sliding along the calorie scale.

Detox Momentum: Momentum can easily be sucked dry when the right trigger pushes a button and causes us to deflate. 

Philippians 4:8…Fix your thoughts on whatever is noble (honorable/modest/reputable) My thoughts this week are turned toward something I have come to see as noble and honorable. dirt. Yup. Plain old dirt. Well not just any dirt. My dirt. The dirt that set the foundation for planting a few seeds. The dirt that on Easter morning made it possible for me to sing a hallelujah praise for the risen savior Jesus Christ.

“Take me as you find me, all my fears and failures. Fill my life again, I give my life to follow everything I believe in, now I surrender. Savior, He can move the mountains, My God is mighty to save He is mighty to save, FOREVER author of salvation, He rose and conquered the grave, Jesus conquered the grave.”

Had it not been for that dirt, those mistakes, those wrong turns, I would not have found myself on my own road to Damascus.  My Pastor said today, there are modern-day prodigals. Their main qualification, they realized they were where they didn’t belong, realized how much more they could have in their ‘father’s house’, turned toward the father and reclaimed the inheritance. Praise Jesus for His grace and the fact that He has enough of that grace for as many of us who want it! I thank God for the dirt I had. More importantly for realizing I was somewhere I didn’t belong. This week’s challenge, in all 3 areas is very concentrated. It’s going to take serious commitment to stay focused and on task. I promise to hold you to it, if you’ll just let me be that accountability to you.

3 weeks and counting til the Dirty Girl Mud run. This week, cardio & core will get me over those obstacles so cleverly named “H2OMG,” “Utopian Tubes,” and “PMS (Pretty Muddy Stuff),”! Dirty Girl is a female-centric event combining the fun of an obstacle course with unique touches for all participants in this one-of-a-kind, women-only event. Dirty Girl Race Director Jimmy Gohsman, stated, “We’re excited to bring this unique event to the women of the Atlanta area. The day will offer women of all athletic and fitness abilities a chance to get out of their comfort zones and into their giggle zones. Each obstacle is specially designed to be challenging but manageable.”

Dirty Girl is truly a unique way for women to share a day of fun-filled laughter and bonding. I’m so glad it’s designed for every level. Admittedly that takes some of the nausea away. A simple honorable mention will make it all worth while.

Well. I did say thank God for the honorable dirt.

Disclaimer: This post is sponsored by FitFluential LLC. All thoughts and opinions are my own. 

Related articles

