Fitness Friday: YouTube, Nike, better on a budget

This summer my focus is keeping my family balanced, moving more and making the healthiest choices as it relates to seasonal summer favorites.  Summer heat, cookouts and desperate boredom cries of children shouldn’t be the excuse to give up the hard work we’ve put in, but since I know how easy it is to just give in; I’ve compiled a few of the things that are already working in my family!  Even though, it’s technically only day 4 of Summer break, I’m thinkin’ these are a keeper.

Runner’s World Run Streak (#RWRunStreak)

Run at least one mile per day, every day, starting on Memorial Day (Monday, 5/28) and ending on Independence Day (Wednesday, 7/4). That’s 38 consecutive days of running. Share your progress, get motivation and follow other runners on twitter with hashtag #RWRunStreak. If you’re asking “Why would I do this” my answer is…1 mile is better than none! Get movin’

Mommy’s workin’ out

Major shout out to the Nike Training Club APP which has been my ‘go-to’ workout lately since my schedule has been hectic. On those days I can’t get to the gym and getting outside to run isn’t an option, the Nike Training Club APP has rescued me. In case you don’t have the APP or can’t get it (hint to Nike you should make one for the droid), here’s a few of the video clips (you rock Nike).

Shake it up

“BBB my BFF cuz IDK what’s comin’ next…TTYL XOX”

If you’re the mother of a pre-tween girl you’ve heard this song over and over and over and now you’re singin’ it. The wildly popular Disney channel show “Shake it Up” mega-stars have some amazing voices and dance moves. Well, my 10 year old daughter who loves to dance and sing discovered that Shake it Up has a YouTube channel with all the choreography dance moves. So she hopped on for 2 days straight and was movin’ and groovin’.  She even invited me in to see her own performance! Kids will move when given the opportunity, this was a solid hour of active, healthy, summertime fun! Done and done!

We Can!®

I seriously love my life and my job. I look for opportunities to be fitfluential in my family, my circle of influence and my community. As a Lifestyle Instructor for Wellstar Health Systems here in Georgia I teach wellness programs for our Corporate and Community Health Department through School Health & Adolescent Health. I recently accepted the position of influence through the  We Can!® program. I am so excited to work with these families. I highly encourage you as a parent, community member or fitness professional to find a We Can!® Program in a Community Near You

ALDI 

Do you know ALDI? Do you shop ALDI? Do you wish you could shop for your family, save money and eat better? Then you want to know ALDI. ‘Nuff said.

Eating healthy on a budget

Summer lovin’ recipes 

Super fresh, Super delicious healthy summer recipes from Eating Well magazine. I ABsolutely love this magazine because, well it helps me to eat well and take care of me & my family with major crowd pleasing props.

Celebrate – June 

Father’s Day, Graduations, and …Dairy month? Yup. That’s right. How now, even the brown cow get’s props for post workout recovery power!

